Tags

, , , ,

AM

Genre: Crime

Stars: 4

Links: Amazon UK and Amazon.com

The Blurb:

An electrifying thriller for fans of Harlan Coben and Michael Connelly. Forced into retirement because of ill-health, Commissario Domenico Martelli is hired to investigate a grotesque and disturbing murder. The case brings him into conflict with his former colleagues and into confrontation with a mysterious and devious killer. Set in the breathtaking countryside of the Italian Riviera, Acqua Morta will keep you guessing until the very last page.

My Review:

This dark crime thriller comes complete with sweeping vistas of Italy and descriptions that will transport you to an Italian dinner-table and leaving you drooling there.

Commissario Martelli, forced into retirement, continues to investigate his last case, a gruesome murder, against the wishes of his friends and ex colleagues. At the same time, in England, another policeman is investigating a case of forged passports and hoarded cash. Slowly, lyrically, the two strands twist together on their way to a single conclusion…

The writing is poetic, the descriptions evocative and the story wholesome. The book is a little long but, if you are a fan of both literary fiction and crime, this most certainly is the one for you.

*I received a free copy from the author in exchange for my honest review.

Advertisements