Sos

Genre: Coming-of-age, contemporary fiction, mystery

Stars: 5

Links: Amazon UK and Amazon.com

The Blurb:

The summer the Dovers move in next door, sixteen-year-old Helen’s lonely world is at once a more thrilling place. She is infatuated with the bohemian family, especially the petulant and charming daughter Victoria.

As the long, hot days stretch out in front of them, Helen and Victoria grow inseparable. But when a stranger appears, Helen begins to question whether the secretive Dover family are really what they seem.

It’s the kind of summer when anything seems possible . . .

Until something goes wrong.

A suspenseful, spell-binding coming-of-age story about how one simple action on a summer’s day can echo through the years. Perfect for fans of Louise Doughty’s Apple Tree Yard, Liane Moriarty’s The Husband’s Secret and Helen Dunmore’s The Lie.

My Review:

This is a beautifully written coming-of-age mystery with a dash of thrilleresque plot and a stark reminder of how relationships and events from our earlier years burden the present or future.

Helen is intrigued by the Dovers, a family that unexpectedly move into the neighbourhood with their secrets, mayhem and friendship. The repercussions of that summer and the sudden disappearance of the family has far-reaching effects on Helen’s life.

This has it all: great, flawed characters, twists and unexpected revelations, and all told with a serene and original voice. Poignant, moving and stunning.

Advertisements